

## AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

## **MEDIA RELEASE**



6th December 2013

## **Ketut Followers The Big Winners**

By Paul Dolan Racing Queensland Website

Fairytale stories sometimes do come true.

Such was the case at Albion Park last night when Kiss Me Ketut led from the first turn to win the group one Brisbane Cup final over 520 metres.

The promotional build up to the meeting was huge and included the attendance of "Ketut" from the well-known AAMI Insurance television commercials.



Kiss Me Ketut winning a heat of the Melbourne Cup at Sandown (Pic Clint Anderson)

The human Ketut cheered as loudly as anyone else on course, with the possible exception of Mark Walker, as the Dave Burnett owned and trained Kiss Me Ketut strutted his stuff out in front and held on to win by a neck over fellow Victorian trained runner Farmor Las Vegas (\$8.90) for Rob Britton.

Continued on Page 2...

## AUSTRALIAN GREYHDUND BAGING ASSUGIATION

So who is Mark Walker? He's a Brisbane resident, not a regular greyhound race goer, who went along to Albion Park to see what all the hype with Ketut was all about. Walker's name was drawn as the winner of a Tattsbet sponsored free \$500 bet which the Brisbane G.R.C. said would be on Kiss Me Ketut to win. The dog paid \$6.80 on the win tote and Walker collected \$3,400 for his visit to the track.

Also a winner last night was Albion Park regular Noel Foster, the well-known greyhound chiropractor/muscle man. Foster drew Kiss Me Ketut in the free patrons' competition and wins a trip to Bali valued at \$2,000.

The winning time of 29.82 seconds was the second fastest in a Brisbane Cup in the 21 running's of the event at Albion Park. 2006 winner Pororoca holds the race record at 29.66.

Battistuzzi (\$17.30), the lone New South Wales trained runner in the final, finished third for Frank and Edie Hancock and was handled by their son Darryl.

"Dad is hospitalised for a hernia operation so I came down from Townsville to help with all the dogs and had the pleasure of handling Battistuzzi. We're rapt to have run third," Darryl said.

Kiss Me Ketut (Bombastic Shiraz – Spiral Siyan) earned \$75,000 for the win. Second money was \$20,000 and it was \$10,000 for third.

Fourth home was co favourite Xylia Allen who got shunted back to near the rear of the field early after a moderate beginning which is her custom. Peter Ruetschi's Captain Clarrie did best of the Queenslanders, finishing fifth.

David Burnett indicated that Kiss Me Ketut would bypass the next group one race on the Australian calendar which is the time honoured Hobart Thousand. Heats will be run this Thursday night.

"He's still a young dog at 28 months. There's a couple of age classics I'll put him in, the first one being the Silver Chief," Burnett said.

The Silver Chief is Victoria's Derby equivalent, with heats at the Meadows on Saturday night December 21. The series runs over three weeks with the group one \$100,000 to the winner final on Saturday, January 4, 2014. It's for male greyhounds whelped on or after June 1, 2011.

Kiss Me Ketut, being an August 11 whelping, will be one of the more mature runners in the Silver Chief.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4<sup>th</sup> Xylia Allen (\$3.40), 5<sup>th</sup> Captain Clarrie (\$32.40), 6<sup>th</sup> Tomac Bale (\$2.20), 7<sup>th</sup> Top Story (\$12.60) and Hawko's Mistake (\$52.70).

Kiss Me Ketut is a Black dog whelped August 2011 by Bombastic Shiraz from Spiral Siyan (Spiral Nikita x Flight And Life). He is raced, was bred and is trained by David Burnett at South Geelong in Victoria. Kiss Me Ketut has raced 37 times for 17 wins and 11 placings with his win in the Brisbane Cup the \$75,000 first prize took her current stake earnings to \$183,710.

The Brisbane Cup has had a few name changes when it was first run in 1972 and won by Victorian Garron Court the race was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship. It remain that name until 1976. It was then called the Brisbane Cup from 1977 until 1981 changed in1982 to be known as the Coca-Cola Cup until 1999 when it changed back to the Brisbane Cup. The race was conducted at the Gabba until the track closed in 1992 and since has been staged at Albion Park. Listed below is the Honour Roll containing some of the champion greyhounds among the past winners.

1972 Garron Court, 1973 Top Simbi, 1974 Mister Oollee, 1975 Alpha Brava, 1976 Clover Duke, 1977 Rebel Attack, 1978 Young Breeze, 1979 Acclaim Star, 1980 General Jeff, 1981 Picture This, 1982 Peter Glider, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 National Lass, 1985 Super Max, 1986 Pretty Fearless, 1987 Whip Tip, 1988 Dancing Gamble, 1989 Golden Fox, 1990 Whisky Bale, 1991 No It's Not, 1992 White Coonowrin, 1993 Star Title, 1994 Toss The Teddy, 1995 Flying Amy, 1996 Silver Pageant, 1997 Barrio Babe, 1998 Questions, 1999 Bob's One, 2000 Kantarn Bale, 2001 Tricky Creek, 2002 Tricky Creek, 2003 Bogie Leigh, 2004 Malfoy, 2005 Pororoca, 2006 Pure Burst, 2007 Uno Joel, 2008 El Galo, 2009 Mr Metz, 2010 He Knows Uno, 2011 Glen Gallon and 2012 Got A Moment.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton
AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838